The Student Room Group

terrified of year abroad

My year abroad is creeping up and I am so worried about it, it's starting to become all I think about. I am a joint honours student of beginners' French and Spanish. There are many reasons I'm dreading it, for example that the language barrier and my shyness will leave me friendless, accommodation issues, missing home, etc.

If anyone could offer any advice on how to stress out about it less or look forward to it I would appreciate it. I have considered dropping out because of how scared I am but I don't want to throw away all the effort I've put into university.
Original post by Uyirpeariel
My year abroad is creeping up and I am so worried about it, it's starting to become all I think about. I am a joint honours student of beginners' French and Spanish. There are many reasons I'm dreading it, for example that the language barrier and my shyness will leave me friendless, accommodation issues, missing home, etc.

If anyone could offer any advice on how to stress out about it less or look forward to it I would appreciate it. I have considered dropping out because of how scared I am but I don't want to throw away all the effort I've put into university.

Wherever you go for your year abroad you won’t be the only English speaking student there. There’s a reason that international students studying in the uk tend to make friends with each other - it means that they can relax more in their social time without having to struggle with the language too. The same happens with english speakers in other countries. Other english speakers will be keen to be your friend while you’re away.

There will be support to find accommodation. Make sure that you use it and if you need extra help with your studies then ask for it. Talk to your family about homesickness and ask if they can help with the extra costs of staying in touch (phone bills) and see if you can get them to visit you while you’re away.