The Student Room Group

BA Japanese: Edinburgh or SOAS or Durham or Sheffield?

Hi all!

I am an international student and want to study Japanese in the UK. I've received all the results of my uni applications: got offers from Edinburgh, Durham, SOAS, and Sheffield; rejected by Oxford. Now I'm wondering which uni I should go to.

Personally I prefer Edinburgh and SOAS. But I've heard that Edinburgh has low student satisfaction, and SOAS is facing some kinds of financial difficulties and many courses are currently not running.

I've also searched for subject rankings from different organizations, but the results are quite different. A ranking says that Durham's oriental studies course is top 3 in the UK, and some say Edinburgh's language courses are better. I don't know which to believe. And there's no much information about Sheffield's Japanese course. Which uni has a better teaching quality?
As a preface, Japanese degrees in the UK usually see the student spending 50% of their time learning the language and the other 50% of the time studying the academic side of Japanese studies (including politics, literature and religion etc). Of course, the split might not be even in every university, and the standard of the language as well as the academic education will vary from institution to institution. In any case, here are my thoughts on the Japanese degrees offered in British universities (from what friends who've studied Japanese at the following institutions have told me and my own speculation):