The Student Room Group

Warwick vs UCL vs LSE for a career in private equity/ quant/ acturial science

I love statistics (pure maths not so much) and I want a career in private equity/ quant/ actuarial science.

1. I have an offer from Warwick BSc Maths and Stats; should I stay on the Maths and Stats course or should I move to MMORSE in the second year?

2. I also have an offer for UCL BSc Maths with Statistical Science; which is better, Warwick M+S/MMORSE vs UCL M+S?

3. Warwick M+S/MMORSE vs LSE BSc Financial Maths and Stats?

4. If I do get an offer from LSE FM+S, could I change to Mathematical Econ and Econometrics or would they not allow that?
Choose LSE without question. Ignoring the prestige of the university (which is already very high), the amount of extracurricular opportunities at LSE is unrivalled. Doesn't matter what subject you do. As long as you get some maths in there.
Reply 2
Original post by anonuser99
Choose LSE without question. Ignoring the prestige of the university (which is already very high), the amount of extracurricular opportunities at LSE is unrivalled. Doesn't matter what subject you do. As long as you get some maths in there.

The LSE Financial Maths and Statistics course isn't what I'd like. I love statistics, but LSE's course is extremely detailed for finance and those skills could be learnt on the job as I feel employers may prefer a wider knowledge of mathematics and statistics.
That being said, I would hope to move into Mathematical Econ and Econometrics from second year, but I'm not sure if that is possible.
Overall I'm still struggling in weighing up the prestige and location of London unis such as UCL and LSE against the far better course and teaching at Warwick.
Original post by thunga