The Student Room Group

how long should it take me to reach grade 1 on piano?

i've just had my first lesson last week and is curious. i have no musically background but im practicising at least half-hour every day with a lesson 30 minutes a week

for that matter, what level can i get up to in a year? I'm 20, if that makes any difference?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Well it took me a year, but then again I was 8 and I don't think I practised much if at all. With 30 minutes a day it shouldn't take long.
Reply 2
30 mins a week will make learning pieces harder.
but then again, i guess it depends how fast you learn, im a slow learner so i spend lots of time practising. = hours and hours, until i can play the piece by heart, thats the the point you know you have the piece secure to play whenever.

what sort of pieces have you started playing?
are they like the "piano times books?" - boosey and hawkes.

thats what i started with, they're alright.

depends if you're commited!
Well piano is a lot harder instrument to fly through grades.
Particularly with you having no experience, but I don't see why you can't get to grade 1 by a year. Especially if you are practising every day.
When I started my first instrument (oboe) I didn't practice that much and got to grade 2 in a year. But it's a lot easier, of course than piano.
Piano is probably one of the hardest instruments to start on; but if you keep up the half an hours practice every day you'll go far!!
Reply 5
hahahahaa I played piano for 5 years and still after that she said I wasn't ready for grade one. I was appalling
Reply 6
SiaSiaSia
hahahahaa I played piano for 5 years and still after that she said I wasn't ready for grade one. I was appalling

blame it on the teacher
Reply 7
jintea
blame it on the teacher

ahhaa no she was a brilliant teacher :P
i just was an appalling student.
i'm gonna start again and prove her wrong though :biggrin:
Reply 8