The Student Room Group
Learning at Imperial College London
Imperial College London
London

Ash Music Scholarships

Hi,

I applied for this and have just got rejected without even getting an audition:frown: Feeling really down at the moment as I know I will not be able to afford any lessons at university.

Anyone get an audition for this? What standard did you have to be to get that?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I got an audition for easter. I imagine you'd have to be way above grade 8 standard to get it.
Learning at Imperial College London
Imperial College London
London
Reply 2
Oh, I got my diploma in piano and didnt get one. Was dissapointed but feeling better now. The piano is the most popular instrument so it probably has the most competition :frown:
Reply 3
Yeah, I'm going for piano as well I really hope I get it. It would mean a lot to me.
Reply 4
The Ash music scholars I know are generally really amazing. some of them have already been having lessons at RCM for the last few years. and they would have got their grade 8 when they were 13/14...

don't worry about not being able to get lessons. being next to RCM, there are a lot of amazing students there who offer private tuition.
Reply 5
*year-old thread bumped*

I just got an audition on the 3rd of April for a scholarship :smile:

anyone else?
Reply 6
Well, you have to have at least grade 8 distinction to be considered...which sucks a bit since I'm doing diploma atm.
Reply 7
best of luck to all who have auditions. The Ash scholars I know at Imperial, as I've said, are all absolutely stunning players who wouldn't be out of place at music college.
Reply 8
edit: doublepost
Reply 9
I've got an april 3rd audition too silverjonny. Very scared. I play piano, violin and guitar, but recently got 136 for gr 8 piano and thats what I'm going for. What are you going to wear??
john
Reply 10