The Student Room Group

Civil Service Cyber Security Apprenticeship - Interview Prep: Help please!

Hi all,

I've been working for a few years with no real direction and decided to change that last month when I applied for the CS CyberSec level 4 apprenticeship.

Despite having next to no experience in the field (I worked part time on an IT Helpdesk for a while and did a little bit of web design, which I've mostly forgotten, about 5yrs ago), I've been invited to attend a 'strength based' video interview before 10th June '21. If I pass this, I'll be invited to an assessment centre.

Would anyone with experience of (1) CyberSec interviews and/or (2) Civil Service strength-based interviews be able to give me some advice or tips on the types of questions I can expect and should prepare for, please?

Also, if there's anything you recommend I read so that I can talk about it at interview to demonstrate experience/knowledge/understanding of the field, that would be helpful too.

Obviously I don't want to mislead them about my experience, that would just backfire later in the process if/when I'm quizzed on something I mentioned earlier. Rather, I just want to be able to demonstrate that I know enough to move to the assessment centre and then I can use the ~4 weeks between now and then to learn a couple of things in a bit more detail (e.g. I've begun learning Python).

Thanks everyone!

Scroll to see replies

Just wondering if you knew what the application feedback score was out of?
Original post by ws16551123
Just wondering if you knew what the application feedback score was out of?

Hey, presumably you applied for this programme too? Are you video interviewing?

I don’t know how they calculated the scores. They just gave me a number with no context. It would be great if someone else who knew could advise…
Original post by username_unknown
Hey, presumably you applied for this programme too? Are you video interviewing?