The Student Room Group

Experienced drivers (2+ years etc.), do you still drive as you were first taught?

We are all aware of 'bad habits' demonstrated by experienced drivers of 10+ years, what about you guys? Do you still check all of your blind spots, check your mirrors before indicating or slowing down etc.? I personally have a few bad habits and doubt I'd pass a driving test now. I've been driving almost every day for 3 years and have driven rurally, as well as in the city, and on motorways, as well as in all weather conditions.

I feel like this'll be interesting on how newly passed drivers adjust their driving, after having been taught to drive in a very particular way to properly shape a learner for their test.
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 1
People go through phases. The first year or few can be erratic as people tend to push the limits a bit, but after a while people mellow out and tend to fall back into what they're taught as when you get older the "untouchable" feeling of youth fades.
As someone who would've been driving 5 years in March, I definitely don't drive the same way I was taught (at least by my instructor). I still do some of the stuff I was taught especially in areas which are new/unfamiliar but I have definitely got a little complacent and developed bad habits however these started less than 3 months after passing when driving to college daily so I guess the more comfortable you become and understand other drivers actions more the worse you get and I can nearly always spot someone who's learning or just passed as they drive completely different to the rest.

Im not sure I would pass the test now
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 3
Well based on most people out on the roads, seems like they all follow too closely to the car in front, can’t be bothered to indicate correctly - particularly at roundabouts - and sometimes just drive slowly for no reason
Reply 4