The Student Room Group

Apprenticeship alongside masters degree

Hello,

I'm currently studying a full time masters degree. I don't attend lectures so my only commitment is the assignments roughly once or twice a month. It is going well however I want to use my time to work towards something that i actually want to go into.

I have been offered an apprenticeship beginning in January 2022 however my master's does not end until September 2022.

Would it be possible to begin the apprenticeship without giving up my master's degree as I'm confident that i could balancefull time work alongside my assignments? Would there also be an issue with funding as i believe both are government funded? Would any one actually know?

Thanks for any help x
Reply 1
Original post by Baxter12E
Hello,

I'm currently studying a full time masters degree. I don't attend lectures so my only commitment is the assignments roughly once or twice a month. It is going well however I want to use my time to work towards something that i actually want to go into.

I have been offered an apprenticeship beginning in January 2022 however my master's does not end until September 2022.

Would it be possible to begin the apprenticeship without giving up my master's degree as I'm confident that i could balancefull time work alongside my assignments? Would there also be an issue with funding as i believe both are government funded? Would any one actually know?

Thanks for any help x

What level is the apprenticeship?
Reply 2
Original post by O_O.
What level is the apprenticeship?

Level 4 however i have also been offered a level 3 position in a different role
Reply 3
Original post by Baxter12E
Level 4 however i have also been offered a level 3 position in a different role

i think if its as you said and you dont have many commitments for your masters other than the assignments then it should be manageable for you.