The Student Room Group
University of Manchester
University of Manchester
Manchester

Dropping out of UoM

Hi

I'm a second year student at the University of Manchester. I'm studying Criminology and although I thought that this would be a subject that I would enjoy, I hate it. I think more than the subject, I hate university life and the whole environment causes me great anxiety and it's gotten me to a point where I don't attend lectures or seminars because I can't bear the thought of sitting in a classroom surrounded by people I don't know or care to know simply because I don't want to be there.

I'm not doing great in my coursework & exams and I'm only completing work to pass and not to try hard and achieve high grades. I know that people will say I only have one year left of my course but I can't imagine myself staying at uni for that year completing more assignments as well as a dissertation. I feel so unhappy and my mental health is declining. I have three assignments due in three weeks and I can't even bring myself to do them when I know I'm not going to get exceptional marks. If I continue and finish third year I'm going to graduate with a less than mediocre grade and it's not even going to be worth it.

My plan is to begin an apprenticeship, I know they're not as easy to get as they seem and it will take time so in the meantime I will get a day job and earn some money to save up to do important life things such as getting my driving license.

I'm worried about being perceived as a disappointment and a failure as a part of me already feels these things about myself, but I know that another year of uni is a terrible idea for me...

I would also like to know about the process of dropping out of my university, if anyone has gone through the withdrawal process at UoM please could you give me some information on it?

Let me know your thoughts on this situation it would be really helpful
Original post by Anonymous
Hi