The Student Room Group

The Great Spanish Omelette betrayal, and other reflections on Nutrition

Hello everyone, this thread is a short reflection from me about carbohydrate content in food and glycaemic index.

I have type 1 diabetes and was diagnosed 18 months ago.

This thread serves me as a reflection of some of the more obscure foods I eat and the effect is has on my blood glucose levels.

This thread might serve you if you are also a type 1 diabetic, this thread might also serve you if you are interested in the speed of digestion/absorption of different foods into the body. :smile:

I am not a health professional and I am not trained to provide dietary advice.
Are Spanish omelettes not good then?
If you are wondering why the thread title is as such, it is because I have just eaten half of a lovely Spanish omelette from LIDL

The carbohydrate content of the spanish omelette was 56g per 100g of omelette.
The total omelette was 500g.
So my portion was 250g.

56*2.5 = 140g of carbohydrate in what I was about to eat.
Normally, I would inject 14 units of insulin for this. However, after eating the other half yesterday and injecting too much, I chose to inject a mere 3 units today.

My BG has just crashed.

Hence, the betrayal of the omelette's nutritional information as to indicate my correct course of action :ashamed2:

Yesterday I could put the drop down to significant exercise. Today I haven't exercised at all, so it's difficult to attribute another cause beyond very high glycaemic index of carbohydrates in the Spanish omelette. This is especially true as I added cheese (strong in fat and protein), which slows down the absorption of the carbohydrate into my system.
Original post by EBluebear
Are Spanish omelettes not good then?

See above :smile:
(it was delicious)
Following this! :woo:

It would be nice if there was an app to tell you how many units of insulin is required if you scan the barcode.
Original post by KA_P
Following this! :woo: