The Student Room Group

Help & Advice

Hi all,

I have come to this forum for a bit of guidance and advice,

Currently, I have two years experience in book-keeping, doing VAT returns and now I have started to complete accounts, and I have audit experience. I finished my degree in Business Management & Accountancy and Finance with a 2:1. This has given me a few exemptions on my ACCA studies (which are being funded by my workplace). However even though that is great, I am currently on £18k per year.. and I have an appraisal coming up.

The firm is a medium size company, but should I be expecting more? I have just completed my first exam of Corporate Business Law, and an exemption of FM, so I have to complete a few more before the advance level of ACCA.

I’m happy in my role, but I travel to and from work which takes 2:30 - 3:00 a day..

What salary should I ask for and perhaps the best way to speak about this in my appraisal ?

Thanks,
Original post by Lloyd1997x
Hi all,

I have come to this forum for a bit of guidance and advice,

Currently, I have two years experience in book-keeping, doing VAT returns and now I have started to complete accounts, and I have audit experience. I finished my degree in Business Management & Accountancy and Finance with a 2:1. This has given me a few exemptions on my ACCA studies (which are being funded by my workplace). However even though that is great, I am currently on £18k per year.. and I have an appraisal coming up.

The firm is a medium size company, but should I be expecting more? I have just completed my first exam of Corporate Business Law, and an exemption of FM, so I have to complete a few more before the advance level of ACCA.

I’m happy in my role, but I travel to and from work which takes 2:30 - 3:00 a day..

What salary should I ask for and perhaps the best way to speak about this in my appraisal ?

Thanks,