The Student Room Group

You want to get into cyber intelligence, which MSc you choose?

I want to move into cyber intel. My BA is in sociology and i have a lame MSc in cyber from a bad college that no recruiter really cares about. I got accepted in the below programmes, which ones do you think will help me more towards my goal?
Kings - Intelligence and security
Middlesex - Digital Forensics
Uclan - Cybercrime Investigation

Do you think its more of a matter of the name and raking of the school, or the actual MSc structure?
(edited 1 year ago)
Where do you want to move into cyber intel? As in, which organisation do you want to work for?
It would be great to move to a company like crowdstrike, mandiant, ibm and the likes. So, private sector.
Have a look at their employees that work in the job that you want on Linkedin - this will give you a good idea of the qualifications needed and whether they prefer to give the training in house or for you to have completed it prior to application.
I'd look into whether i could find a job in that field or at least a job where i could work towards working in that field.
going to uni would be last resort i.e. if it was impossible to get a job without the degree. and even so i'd do it part-time. i'd really consider the jobs vs grads though. i wouldn't want to 'invest' several thousands and 1 year of life all for a job that isn't even guarateed at the end. in fact could get the degree and ironically end up in a worse situation that before i.e. unemployed
(edited 1 year ago)
i know what you mean. but i keep hearing the same excuses from the recruiters, that other candidates had better degrees etc. and ive seen from colleagues who have 100% cybersec degrees, they get so many more calls. so i feel my cv is lacking in the educational stuff. perhaps a sans cert would make more sense.
This post is rather confused.
You have a MSc in cyber? From which college? And why do u think getting another one would help?