The Student Room Group

geography nea

Hi, Im in year 12 doing geography a level with edexcel and were now working on the nea. I wanted to do the question "To what extent are coastal management strategies in Rhos on Sea considered a long term solution?" Could someone give me some feedback on what I could do for my subquestions and also what fieldwork data I need to collect and why? Thanks
Original post by xoxogosssipgirl
Hi, Im in year 12 doing geography a level with edexcel and were now working on the nea. I wanted to do the question "To what extent are coastal management strategies in Rhos on Sea considered a long term solution?" Could someone give me some feedback on what I could do for my subquestions and also what fieldwork data I need to collect and why? Thanks

Hey!

I studied geography at A-level a few years ago so hopefully I can help! If you're looking at coastal management strategies, one or more of your subquestions should probably be focused on a specific strategy that exists at your chosen location. I'm not sure exactly what defenses there are at Rhos on Sea, but you could look at groynes if there are any then state a hypothesis along the lines of "The groynes at Rhos on Sea at effective at collecting beach sediment to maintain the coastline." - something measurable that you can say is true or false. The data you'd collect alongside that would be measuring the height between the sand and top of the groyne on both sides, then if one side is higher you can prove that sediment is being gathered and longshore drift is being prevented. You could even look at historical photos or maps to see how far back the beach has eroded before and after defenses were installed, if the rate of erosion was faster before then it is clear the defenses are working. Although I know that sometimes this kind of information isn't easy to find. Then be sure to talk about the future towards the end as well - I just found quickly online a few articles (like this one https://www.bbc