The Student Room Group

Physiotherapy 2024

Hello, I am interested in applying for a physiotherapy degree for entry in 2024, preferably at Sheffield Hallam. I just wanted to ask about the acceptable entry requirements because I have a rather unique educational history.

I'm a mature student who possesses a Foundation Degree (FdSc) in Exercise Science, with modules revolving around anatomy and biomechanics. I did very poorly when I was a child at GCSE level and only have D's in Science, a D in Maths, and a C in English. And the Level 3 I studied at college that allowed me to progress to a Foundation Degree does not accrue UCAS tariff points.

However, I have shadowed physio and occupational therapists in the past and have a lot of work experience. I am employed and by the time of application will have 1 full years experience working as a care assistant as well as being a private carer for family in the past, and I work within a multidisciplinary team alongside physiotherapists, occupational therapists, and speech-and-language therapists in a patient facing environment.

My question is, would universities welcome and accept an application from me despite my lack of A levels and poor GCSE results when factoring in the relevant foundation degree I possess, and the extensive amount of direct work experience I have in a patient facing care environment?