The Student Room Group

deleted

….
(edited 8 months ago)
Original post by spliced
I take maths, psychology and geography. Initially I had the intention of applying for psych at Uni, but everytime I settle on it there’s always something that makes me reconsider it. I’ve been exploring my options, and law is something that has peaked my interest. I know Unis don’t require any specific subjects for law, but normally history or English is preferred. So would it still be possible for me to get into a top uni (eg Russell group) with my a level choices? My predicted is currently A*A*A*. And if I ended up not wanting to pursue law post grad, would I be more or less employable than if I graduated with a psych degree instead (in non vocational fields)?

I can partially answer this: no, it shouldn't matter which subjects you do. The essay subjects are preferred to demonstrate you are able to read the material (there would be a lot of material to go over), but it's not mandatory. I know of a law student who got into Oxbridge with science A Levels.
If anything, your personal statement and LNAT would be more important once you have the grades.

Having said that, if you intend to be a socilitor (not a barrister), then you can do so with a degree in any subject via the SQE. The PGDL is necessary if you want to be a barrister and you don't have an LLB (not just any law undergrad).
You could still go into psychology if you do a postgrad conversion course in case you did an LLB instead of an undergrad in psychology.

I can't comment on the employability aspect for either subjects.
(edited 11 months ago)
Reply 2
Original post by spliced