The Student Room Group

Thinking of doing a access course at uni instead of an HNC,(I'm a mature student)

So I have an unconditional for Hnc social science starting in August but due to certain circumstances I'm considering possibly doing a course at university for access rather than an HNC. The thing is, Ive already applied for SAAS for my Hnc.... (Haven't heard back) will that application be counted towards the loans I'm entitled to or will it not be since I don't actually be starting the course? Then maybe I'll have to pay for uni! I hope you understand what I mean :frown: please respond asap I'm stressed.
I would recommend contacting SAAS to confirm (as I'm more familiar with SFE's processes) but usually for SFE at least you would just have the application amended to reflect the new course you wish to do. With SFE normally doesn't count towards your entitlement until after some of the loan is actually disbursed and/or you are held liable for fees at the new uni (which usually won't be until a week or two after the course starts for most unis). I suspect SAAS is similar but as noted, best to call them and check :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by artful_lounger
I would recommend contacting SAAS to confirm (as I'm more familiar with SFE's processes) but usually for SFE at least you would just have the application amended to reflect the new course you wish to do. With SFE normally doesn't count towards your entitlement until after some of the loan is actually disbursed and/or you are held liable for fees at the new uni (which usually won't be until a week or two after the course starts for most unis). I suspect SAAS is similar but as noted, best to call them and check :smile: