The Student Room Group

Study psychology without maths requirement in highschool

I am an international student who took 2 years of mathematics in my 4-year high school and I am considering applying to a psychology program at universities. In general, I have the application requirements of universities(like gpa,language...), but I could not find any information about mathematics. Is there a country/university that will approve me with 2 years of mathematics?
In the UK most psychology courses do not explicitly require maths beyond GCSE Maths (which would be 2 years of high school maths). That said there is a fair bit of statistics involved in UK psychology degrees so one does need to be reasonable prepared to continue doing a fair bit of maths...
At least at Lancaster University, if there is no information about mathematics then it is not specifically required for the course.

-Kao (Lancaster Maths & Stats Student Ambassador)
Original post by Merlinnn33
I am an international student who took 2 years of mathematics in my 4-year high school and I am considering applying to a psychology program at universities. In general, I have the application requirements of universities(like gpa,language...), but I could not find any information about mathematics. Is there a country/university that will approve me with 2 years of mathematics?

I dont know specifically about your country but in the UK most students will have to pass GCSE Maths. The grades vary between university. Bath requires grades 7 for Psychology UWE grade 4. Most RG type universities will require grade 6. I dont know whether you have passed any level in your country. You would need to contact the appropriate university and ask. Psychology is considered a science in the UK and most science courses will need a set level of Maths.
Reply 4
What qualification do you have?
Reply 5
Original post by McGinger
What qualification do you have?