The Student Room Group

Applying for Midwifery...is this anyone else's second undergraduate degree?

I have just applied via clearing for two midwifery courses, and wondering if anyone else has applied when having completed a degree already? I have a criminology degree, but always really wanted to do midwifery; I just got really scared when everyone said how hard it was to get in!

Ive now just applied to two courses through clearing, and its all different now, it seems, with the bursary being replaced with student finance/nhs grant. I don't think I can get SF again after my first degree, and was wondering if anyone else was in this situation?

Also, anyone else applied to UEL and ARU?

Thanks in advance!

Star x
Hi

I have also just applied for Midwifery as my second Undergrad and I'm just on her for interview advice haha

But I have just spoken to SF and they advise it is a exception degree so you will get SF even though you have done a undergrad before!

Hope you get onto the course and good luck!! :smile:
I'm also in the same boat, applied for mental health nursing after doing an undergrad in English. nursing, midwifery etc are exception courses so you still receive funding due to demand in these professions.

good luck with your studies!
Reply 3
Original post by stargazer77
I have just applied via clearing for two midwifery courses, and wondering if anyone else has applied when having completed a degree already? I have a criminology degree, but always really wanted to do midwifery; I just got really scared when everyone said how hard it was to get in!

Ive now just applied to two courses through clearing, and its all different now, it seems, with the bursary being replaced with student finance/nhs grant. I don't think I can get SF again after my first degree, and was wondering if anyone else was in this situation?

Thanks in advance!

Star x

Hi Star!