The Student Room Group

Cambridge college help

I want to apply for Computer Science. I'm doing Maths, Further Maths, and Computer Science A Levels, but I took my Maths A Level early and missed the A* by 3 marks. I'm predicted 3 A*s for this year, including my maths resit. (Un)fortunately, I do have extenuating circumstances so the grade may not be a problem. For anyone else who has been in this position, which college is likely to be most lenient? I am also a state school student, and my priority is applying to a college that has a chance of accepting me rather than one I'd prefer to live at. Especially given that I am applying for the single most competitive program in existence!
Reply 1
Original post by Nerdonymous
I want to apply for Computer Science. I'm doing Maths, Further Maths, and Computer Science A Levels, but I took my Maths A Level early and missed the A* by 3 marks. I'm predicted 3 A*s for this year, including my maths resit. (Un)fortunately, I do have extenuating circumstances so the grade may not be a problem. For anyone else who has been in this position, which college is likely to be most lenient? I am also a state school student, and my priority is applying to a college that has a chance of accepting me rather than one I'd prefer to live at. Especially given that I am applying for the single most competitive program in existence!

This page might be helpful --> https://www.undergraduate.study.cam.ac.uk/files/publications/computer_science_subject_requirements.pdf
I'd assume the colleges that say 'A-Level Mathematics' won't require A* maths, though they would probs prefer it,
and if you think you can get A* in Further Maths then maybe consider the ones that say 'A* in Maths OR Further Maths'.
Not sure if this means they are technically more lenient though! Good luck :smile:
Original post by Nerdonymous