The Student Room Group

Couldn't find a 'grad scheme'? Tough luck! Won't be eligible next year. Systemic BS!

* I message recruiter about job *
Me: I graduated last year, and I'm interested in X role.

Recruiter: Sorry honey, you are unfortunately not eligible. You must have graduated in the past 6-12 months. Consider a role for experienced applicants.

Me: But I am not experienced!

Recruiter: Oh, apologies for the confusion, I meant to say, you are not eligible if you have more than 6-12 months of experience!!

* I apply *

Result: You are not eligible.

* I e-mail them to see what on Earth! *

Them: Apologies for the confusion, you are right. We will send you the assessment.

* I wait, assessment doesn't arrive, I e-mail again a week after *

Someone else answers: You are not eligible as you have graduated more than 6 months ago.

Graduate schemes MUST BE SCRAPED!

We are no less qualified than someone with 3 years of experience, unless the job is in Law, Medicine, or other regulated profession. This one wasn't!!

Simple requirements for entry level roles: 3 years of experience and/or a Bachelor's degree.

SIMPLE TO NAVIGATE. Everything else is MARKETING and PR!

So, if you can't find any 'GrAD SChEme' in 1 year, GOOD BYE CAREER! Because, if you're in a Tech job like me, you WON'T find any Junior Software Developer roles! No one would take you outside GrAd ScHeMEs!
(edited 6 months ago)
Reply 1
Graduate schemes you typically apply for whilst in your final year - not to sound condescending but what were you doing for the past year since graduating?
Original post by 187sab
Graduate schemes you typically apply for whilst in your final year - not to sound condescending but what were you doing for the past year since graduating?