The Student Room Group

Maths and archaeology

Hiya. I'm currently at the Manchester College doing the Access course in Ancient History and Archaeology. I intend to study archaeology. I have level 2 entry level maths, and I'm studying GCSE level maths, though it isn't going well. Maths has always been a thorn in my side. I know geometry and measurements will be a major feature, which I am good at, but what about the rest of it? If I get mostly Merits and Distinctions in my assignments, will that go in my favour? Will it help that I have a real interest and dedication to this subject? If it's going to be a problem, is it worth busting my ass for the next year at college to apply to study at university for a degree I have no hope of getting? Any help will be gratefully received
Original post by Earthchild
Hiya. I'm currently at the Manchester College doing the Access course in Ancient History and Archaeology. I intend to study archaeology. I have level 2 entry level maths, and I'm studying GCSE level maths, though it isn't going well. Maths has always been a thorn in my side. I know geometry and measurements will be a major feature, which I am good at, but what about the rest of it? If I get mostly Merits and Distinctions in my assignments, will that go in my favour? Will it help that I have a real interest and dedication to this subject? If it's going to be a problem, is it worth busting my ass for the next year at college to apply to study at university for a degree I have no hope of getting? Any help will be gratefully received

Maths probably at this point mainly just a requirement for admission and as long as you can pass your GCSE Maths (doesn't matter if it's foundation or higher, normally you just need to meet a minimum requirement - often a 5 - in maths and then you're fine).