The Student Room Group

really struggling at uni

i'm in first year and i'm really starting to struggle at uni. i feel alone, my weeks feel aimless and have no structure. this sounds daft but i honestly feel like a kid again. i feel vulnerable and scared, i had a panic attack last night over nothing in particular, i think it's because of how i'm feeling. i attend counselling on campus but the appointments are quite far apart. i'm worried about my mental and physical health and i feel trapped, i don't want to go home but also being here is really tough right now and i don't feel like i have a friend to open up to.
Original post by Anonymous
i'm in first year and i'm really starting to struggle at uni. i feel alone, my weeks feel aimless and have no structure. this sounds daft but i honestly feel like a kid again. i feel vulnerable and scared, i had a panic attack last night over nothing in particular, i think it's because of how i'm feeling. i attend counselling on campus but the appointments are quite far apart. i'm worried about my mental and physical health and i feel trapped, i don't want to go home but also being here is really tough right now and i don't feel like i have a friend to open up to.

Anon,

Thanks for sharing. It's good you are being honest about how you feel.

Have you spoken to your family about how you are feeling? Have you had panic attacks before?

I think you do need to talk to your family. It would also be good for you to go home as soon as possible to just share with people you feel comfortable with about how you've been feeling. You can then think about what you might like to do going forward. Perhaps that's attending counselling sessions outside of campus as well as sessions on campus, it might be going to see the GP, or taking a break from studies, or switching to a university closer to home.