The Student Room Group

Psych career path and studying abroad

This year I graduated with a degree in BSc psych and criminology. Which was BPS accredited. I have a few questions based on my career path.

1. I want to do my masters in clinical psych, not so keen on doing a doctorate in that though. However I know in the UK to become a licensed clinical psychologist you have to do a doctorate in clinical psych to then be registered by the HPC (Health Professions Council). Would I be able to get anything with just a masters in Clinical Psych? Could I then go a different route like psychotherapist after a masters in clinical psych? Or should I just pick my masters in for example mental health and counselling? Psychotherapy? Basically is a masters in clinical psych worthless unless I 100% do a doctorate.

2. I’ve always wanted to study abroad. America is my top pick, and of course after I’ll come back to the UK, if I do pursue a masters in clinical psych in the USA, will this be recognised back in the UK? Or when I come back is it going to be basically worthless 😂 Or do I have to maybe to exams when I come back?

Thanks in advance !!
(edited 5 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by username5140364
This year I graduated with a degree in BSc psych and criminology. Which was BPS accredited. I have a few questions based on my career path.

1. I want to do my masters in clinical psych, not so keen on doing a doctorate in that though. However I know in the UK to become a licensed clinical psychologist you have to do a doctorate in clinical psych to then be registered by the HPC (Health Professions Council). Would I be able to get anything with just a masters in Clinical Psych? Could I then go a different route like psychotherapist after a masters in clinical psych? Or should I just pick my masters in for example mental health and counselling? Psychotherapy? Basically is a masters in clinical psych worthless unless I 100% do a doctorate.