The Student Room Group

i dont know if i should drop out

currently i am in first year and about to go into my second semester. i really have lost passion for my degree, its not something im really crazy about anymore and i dont see myself really wanting to pursue a career in it. Alongside this my social life at uni isnt that good and more than likely im going to have live alone next year and with the cost of living private and campus accomodation will be too expensive for me. i just feel like i dont want to do it anymore and i would rather just stop the 36,000 debt for the next two years from coming into my life but im scared to drop out as i dont want limited career oppotunities especially as i want to live abroad when older and im scared of being a failure.
Original post by l-s.10932
currently i am in first year and about to go into my second semester. i really have lost passion for my degree, its not something im really crazy about anymore and i dont see myself really wanting to pursue a career in it. Alongside this my social life at uni isnt that good and more than likely im going to have live alone next year and with the cost of living private and campus accomodation will be too expensive for me. i just feel like i dont want to do it anymore and i would rather just stop the 36,000 debt for the next two years from coming into my life but im scared to drop out as i dont want limited career oppotunities especially as i want to live abroad when older and im scared of being a failure.

I would definitely consider the options to you first, what’s the degree your pursuing perhaps you could do an apprenticeship in something that suits you, that you’ll enjoy you’ll learn while you earn whilst it’s government funded and you won’t have to repay anything…

Hi there
I am sorry to hear about your situation. Echoing the advice above, I think it is really important to think about your options.