The Student Room Group

Should I write a cover letter?

Should I write a cover letter or is my CV good enough on its own? I have an MSc in Finance and want to get into Investment Banking.
Help Please!
Original post by tooby12534
Should I write a cover letter or is my CV good enough on its own? I have an MSc in Finance and want to get into Investment Banking.
Help Please!

Yes, always. A CV alone is simply half an application.

A CV provides the factual evidence of relevant skills, the covering letter provides the persuasive argument. A job application should always be made with both parts.
Reply 2
I would, it’s another part of marketing yourself for the role as well as the fact it looks lazy if you don’t
Reply 3
Another Yes. I have heard multiple times from my boss and HR officers saying that they have filtered out job applicants who did not provide a properly written cover letter.
idk r u just speculatively applying or what? usually applications processes will specifically ask
Reply 5
Help Please!

Yes, it's advisable to include a cover letter when applying for Investment Banking roles, even with a strong CV. The cover letter allows you to express your motivation, align your skills with the industry, and stand out as a candidate. It's a valuable opportunity to showcase your enthusiasm and understanding of the field.
Original post by Mat98
Yes, it's advisable to include a cover letter when applying for Investment Banking roles, even with a strong CV. The cover letter allows you to express your motivation, align your skills with the industry, and stand out as a candidate. It's a valuable opportunity to showcase your enthusiasm and understanding of the field.