The Student Room Group

should i pick french, spanish or both for gcse?

I really need help deciding weather i should choice french or Spanish for my GCSE! Or should i do both?

i am not very good at languages and i find french a very beautiful but hard language in terms of grammar. I am willing to put in the hard work but i am looking for very good grades in yr 11.

I am currently in yr 9 so i have time but i am not sure if it will be too hard. i have seen others in the same situation but they usually want to further peruse languages later in life. i do not.

I find Spanish quite easy and i also really like it. but i am willing to take any advise.

Thank you.
(edited 2 months ago)
Reply 1
i did Spanish at gcse and found it fairly easy compared to my peers who did French. If you want to get a good grade then definitely go for Spanish as it is much easier than French. I would say pick only one if you don’t want to do them later on at alevels or in the future.
Reply 2
Original post by aimeeen
I really need help deciding weather i should choice french or Spanish for my GCSE! Or should i do both?

i am not very good at languages and i find french a very beautiful but hard language in terms of grammar. I am willing to put in the hard work but i am looking for very good grades in yr 11.

I am currently in yr 9 so i have time but i am not sure if it will be too hard. i have seen others in the same situation but they usually want to further peruse languages later in life. i do not.

I find Spanish quite easy and i also really like it. but i am willing to take any advise.

Thank you.