The Student Room Group

How can I achieve 8-9 grades at GCSE?

Hi, I'm an average student who works hard and goes to an OK state school. I currently have about a year before I sit my mocks. I'm really looking to get good grades in them and in my real GCSEs (8 or 9s ideally) and was wondering if anyone could give me any advice or tips on how I can do this. All help is greatly appreciated.
For reference, I'm studying the following:
English lit and lang (for lit, I'm studying Macbeth, Lord of the Flies, and a Christmas Carol. Also, I would love some tips on how to understand and write about poetry)
Maths
Further maths(i haven't started this yet, but will next year)
Statistics (studying next year)
Triple science
History
French
Business Studies
Psychology
At the moment, I'm finding science and history most difficult out of them all.
My teachers aren't particularly helpful and are frequently off ill. Is it possible to achieve my desired grades?
Thank you in advance.
Original post by Bumblebee2023
Hi, I'm an average student who works hard and goes to an OK state school. I currently have about a year before I sit my mocks. I'm really looking to get good grades in them and in my real GCSEs (8 or 9s ideally) and was wondering if anyone could give me any advice or tips on how I can do this. All help is greatly appreciated.
English lit and lang (for lit, I'm studying Macbeth, Lord of the Flies, and a Christmas Carol. Also, I would love some tips on how to understand and write about poetry)
Maths
Triple science
History
French
Business Studies
Psychology
My teachers aren't particularly helpful and are frequently off ill. Is it possible to achieve my desired grades?
Thank you in advance.
try studying ? anyways heyyyyyyyyyy
yes of course! i reccomend PMT for past papers and cognito for science videos
-obvs not sure what ill get in the real thing but they helped me to do really well in my mocks
Original post by uninterested-ant