The Student Room Group

Can anyone mark my GCSE History Essay? (Superpower Relations)

Heyy

I have my GCSE History exam (Edexcel) coming up on Wednesday, and as I'm not very good with the Paper 1 (essay based questions), I was wondering if anyone would be able to go through this and tell me where to improve?? In particular, any general comments or tips in relation to answering the types of questions (Why, In What way did, Describe the Key Features Of "x") would be great :yep:

I basically did all the question parts in 30 minutes to give myself a bit less time, so its not as good as I would have liked. Also, I probably have repeated certain facts a lot of times :p: but normally they ask more varied questions.

Thanks in advance xxx
Reply 1
Perhaps for the Truman Doctrine, you might want to mention that it was the American's belief that Communism would destroy itself if they stopped it from spreading. They felt that by playing the long game, the regime would eventually buckle- this was a crucial underpinning of the containment theory.

For Stalin- its contentous to say 'confirmed US suspicion he planned to take over Europe' - Even at GCSE level, I'd shy away from making statements like that- unless you can find a bonafide historian to back up that claim. Its perhaps beneficial to argue the blockade argument from the other side: Namely, was the blockade the cause of deteriorating relations, or was deteriorating relations the cause of the blockade? As you show yourself, since Yalta (some historians believe 1917 was when the cold war began) the US and USSR had not seen eye to eye, so could it be argued that the blockade only exacerbated and existing feeling of distrust, rather than start anything new?