The Student Room Group

Reality hit...

I had 5 conditional offers by June 09 for computing, but cancelled my UCAS app and accepted a job working for 1 year as a teaching assistant in a school.

I decided that on the year out, I'd work out exactly what it is I want from life. I realised I want to work with kids who need help, whether it be disabled or special needs pupils (I myself have a disability), and just to do a job that makes a difference.

I looked into Psychology and it seemed perfect. I spent a few months doing my Psychology UCAS app and sent it off on the 8th September. I realised I could do either educational psychology (with 3 year degree, 3 year masters and a lot of work experience) or even become a teacher with the degree.

The last week, it's dawned on me that i may have made a HUGE mistake. I've never studied Psychology (Double ICT and Media at A Level) and that as I have very little knowledge of it, I'm unlikely to get as good of a degree as I would if I did computing at University.

I know I want a career working with disadvantaged children (and possibly adults), but I'm not sure exactly what. I always said no to becoming a teacher, but working in the school as a TA since June has made me consider becoming an ICT teacher....

I'm so confused. My UCAS application is already sent off, I'm on a gap year working in a school and thinking have I made a huge mistake....

Please give me some advice/help/support, as I'm really worrying about this now!
Reply 1
Sounds to me like you made the right decision. I have no experience of psychology, but your passion is definitely there - you have an ideal career planned out and you should not give up on it now.
Reply 2
nexttime
Sounds to me like you made the right decision. I have no experience of psychology, but your passion is definitely there - you have an ideal career planned out and you should not give up on it now.

Thanks.