The Student Room Group

Uk student; what are my chances of getting accepted into MIT

I am a student at one of Uk best grammar school, Queen Elizabeth, and I have an ambition to enter MIT in the future, what should I do to prepare in advance(note; I am just a few years into the school, and have not taken/ got the stress of GCSes for a few years) e.g extra curricular things
Reply 1
Which subjects interest you?
Reply 3
Who will pay for it?
Living costs?
Reply 4
Original post by domonict
Who will pay for it?
Living costs?

MIT has very good financial aid, but they are need-aware. Will also not help OP, but I would assume they would apply to other (non-MIT) schools, and many of MITs peers (Harvard, Princeton, Dartmouth, Yale etc) are need-blind, so would not consider OPs financial situation.
Reply 5
Original post by Anonymous
I am a student at one of Uk best grammar school, Queen Elizabeth, and I have an ambition to enter MIT in the future, what should I do to prepare in advance(note; I am just a few years into the school, and have not taken/ got the stress of GCSes for a few years) e.g extra curricular things

To be honest ur chances are extremely low, I think that last year only 2 people from the uk got into MIT. Also I dont mean to come off as rude but what school u go to does not matter, there are a lot of very smart people at bad schools and stupid people at good schools. US applications are honestly very luck based, thats why u see all these americans applying to like 10-15 different colleges whilst we only apply to 5. Unless you are incredibly smart, the chances of an MIT acceptance are unfortunately very low
focus on enjoying life, exploring your interests, have hobbies... when you get to around 16 after GCSEs you can start exploring more seriously