The Student Room Group
Students at Cornwall campus, University of Exeter
University of Exeter
Exeter

Accommodation for an Erasmus student

Hello there!
I am a French student and I am coming to study Literature and History at the University of Exeter next year! I think no matter what accommodation I go in, it will be epic anyway, but I still have some questions.

First of all, i'd like to say how much I would love to go catered but I can't. Erasmus student aren't allowed to have a contract lasting under 40 weeks. Also it would be a total pain in the butt to have to move all my stuff from Exeter to my sister's place in London.

That being said I have no other choice than self-catered. I know a few people who went to Exeter and they all told me NOT to go to Lafrowda. As we're pretty much the same when it comes to accommodation - or at least we were in my home uni, I banned it from my list. I know it's super social so I really like this aspect but one of my friends who lived there said the whole thing was so depressing that he didn't even want to do anything. Not a very good idea! I also read here that St German's was overrated. I'm still planning on putting it as my 3rd choice. 1st would be Rowe House and 2nd, James Owen Court. Does that sound good to you? I haven't read that much about Rowe House so I was wondering what the social life's like there? I am outgoing and I am eager to make the most of my year abroad! I don't really want to go to a quiet place but Lafrowda really doesn't appeal to me, from what I've seen and what I've heard.