The Student Room Group

Dropping Out/Gap Year Once Started

I'm a student at St Andrews, and at the moment, I've got very little enthusiasm for my course, and haven't had from day one (I'm a first year). I'm bored of academic study, wasn't enthusiastic about starting it again at university, and now I'm here, enthusiasm hasn't suddenly appeared!

Basically I'm considering dropping out/trying to take a gap year and continue my studies later.

My other option is a job paying £25k first year O.T.E. in Sales, with a realistic progression to £100k by the age of 30 with the company my dad works for.

I feel like if I call my parents to discuss this though, I'll be a bit of a disappointment to them. I've obviously got into a very good university, very good grades, and its just expected that I go on to university. Since being here however, I've had thoughts about dropping out, and I'm just wondering whether this is the right thing for me right now.

Has anyone got any advice on what I should do?
Reply 1
I'm in the same situation as you in that my course doesn't seem like the best, I'm feeling a bit homesick, and I pretty much want to drop out to do work.

That being said, it's only been (I'm guessing) your first couple of weeks in uni? I would really try hard to at least give it a shot, and see how it goes and see if you like it. I've been hearing it's always better to do at least a year of course then take a break, and to be honest, when you count in holidays that amount it's only really only 6 or 7 months. Then that way, you can definitely plan out your gap year if you feel like dropping out instead of making a rash decision.

Don't worry about your parents, at the end of the day you're number one regarding what you do :smile: Do talk to them though, they'll want to hear. I'm sticking with it, aha.
Reply 2
MagicialHat
I'm in the same situation as you in that my course doesn't seem like the best, I'm feeling a bit homesick, and I pretty much want to drop out to do work.