The Student Room Group

Do you have timetabled tutor time at your university?

If so, could you tell me how often, how many people are in your tutor group, is it compulsory?

What happens? Do you find it useful? What year are you in?

If not, would you like tutor time?

Basically as a course rep, people are asking me to ask why my course has no tutor time, and before I go in demanding answers, I'd like to know what goes on in them!
I'm in first year - my tutorials are where a lot of my learning happens. In languages, it's grammar, literature and oral classes, they last 50 minutes. In history, it's deeper analysis of the lectures, with someone giving an even deeper presentation once a week.
I have 3 a week for languages and 1 for history, they are compulsory - lectures aren't registered, these are, and you can only miss 5 in a year or something, with good excuses.
There's about 10-12 people in all of mine.
Reply 2
Original post by dothestrand
I'm in first year - my tutorials are where a lot of my learning happens. In languages, it's grammar, literature and oral classes, they last 50 minutes. In history, it's deeper analysis of the lectures, with someone giving an even deeper presentation once a week.
I have 3 a week for languages and 1 for history, they are compulsory - lectures aren't registered, these are, and you can only miss 5 in a year or something, with good excuses.
There's about 10-12 people in all of mine.

Thanks for the reply. So are they really just a seminar structure?
Reply 3
On my course, I've had timetabled seminars spanning across all three years, which I've found to be really helpful. The small group sizes (four to five including the lecturer in some cases) make them essentially tutorials, if I understand your meaning correctly. The main bonus is that you get more exposure in front of the lecturer; meaning you get more feedback.