The Student Room Group

Acting degree or something more academic /:

Im really passionate about acting and want to pursue it as a career... although my family are so against it :frown:

Spoke to my teacher today and she reckons im good enough to get into LAMDA or Central... RADA wont even look at me cos i dont have 'life experience' if only they knew ahaha.

If my teacher has genuine faith in me should i follow what i want to do and risk job security or do i do something like history or english at a good uni and get a career?

Obviously im aware of the serious competition for acting and it is highly likely that i will be out of work all the time! But i love it?

No stupid replys like 'youre wasting your money' etc... :L

Appreciate the help :tongue:

(Im studying History, English Literature, Drama and Theatre Studies and General Studies... hoping to get in the region of AAA - ABB (couldn't care less about general studies ahaha)
(edited 12 years ago)
Hi there! It's lovely to see someone so passionate about the subject (I am too :smile:)

Basically, I was in your position 2 years ago. I love acting, always have done. The earliest memory I have is of me on stage as Mrs Clause.... anyway :P

I decided to give up on my dream, at the advice of my family who were trying to look out for me and give me the best start in life.
I went to University to study Psychology, which is a fantastic subject!, don't get me wrong, but it's not my passion in life..
So after 6 months at University I dropped out. (there were other contributing factors to the dropping out, that I guess you would call "life experience" lol).
I realised that the only way to be truly happy with yourself in life, is to follow your heart and dreams. I know that sounds cheesy, but when I was at A Level, I helped a friend prepare for a Central audition, and went with her. The entire time I was directing her, I was thinking. "you're good, but I should be doing this...".