The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Probably have a Google Alert for 'medicine'?
Reply 2
What i did was read into depth about a subject that i really liked - cardiovascular diseases. Then i searched for treatments relating to these disorders. It would be really useful to write on your personal statement that you are intrigued by the ....... system. Because it is inevitable that they will ask you about it, and then off you go...
Reply 3
www.studentbmj.com

Knogle
Probably have a Google Alert for 'medicine'?

And have one for "the" while you're at it! :p:
Reply 4
Miles
www.studentbmj.com

And have one for "the" while you're at it! :p:

:rofl: it was an idea!
Reply 5
Student BMJ is deffinitely a good one. As i'm not a proper med student yet i sometimes find it difficult to get through a whole one without the aid of a medical dictionary but its still v. interesting and they always duscuss major issues in medicine really well i.e. pro's, con's and a conclusion so you get to see it from different of points of view which is always good. I'd also recomend the economist magazine if you're interested in specifically NHS stuff e.g. budgets, deficits, etc. I do economics A-level so the whole mag was useful to me but if you don't do any businessy/economicsy type subject then you could get someone who does to let you have a look or cut out the relevant articles if they don't mind.
Reply 6
rahmed
What i did was read into depth about a subject that i really liked - cardiovascular diseases. Then i searched for treatments relating to these disorders. It would be really useful to write on your personal statement that you are intrigued by the ....... system. Because it is inevitable that they will ask you about it, and then off you go...

not really.
I had 3 interviews....and none picked up on hints i kept dropping about similar stuff, neither did they ask me about similar stuff from my PS.
I guess it just depends. :dontknow:
Reply 7
oh well that was unlucky
Reply 8