The Student Room Group

Applying to Oxford for 5 year affiliated Medicine. Advice please?

Hi there.

Basically I'm keen on applying for Medicine at Oxford. I have a 2:1 in a Bachelor's degree and currently studying towards Master's. However my Bachelor's is in an Arts subject and therefore doesn't qualify me for the GEP. I'm instead looking at the standard programme which I believe can be done in 5 years if applying as a graduate.

Is there anyone here who is currently studying Medicine or knows someone studying via this route?

My A-levels were taken some time ago and weren't really great; AAB, before the A* came into place. I would be looking at doing my A-Levels again perhaps in the Summer or next Autumn (if I do it via Cambridge Exam Board right?).

I was thinking of applying to Oxford for the 5 year programme plus 3 GEPs (Nottingham, Warwick and King's) or switching Oxford for another 5 year programme say Aberdeen or Bristol. Additionally I'm looking at Ireland too (GEP and TCD as a mature).

So basically I'm looking for any pointers from Oxford medics and also, I will be 32 by the time I start the course (if I got in), would that be way too old?
Hi jazzy

Re-taking A-Levels would definitely be a good start before applying for medicine. However Oxford might not accept re-takes they're bit strict perhaps you should aim for a different university. They do ask for A*AA.
Reply 2
Hi.

I mean strictly speaking would they not be regarded as new A-levels given the length of time from the last sitting? I suppose I should write to them and ask.
Reply 3
bump
Original post by Jazzy Foot
Hi.

I mean strictly speaking would they not be regarded as new A-levels given the length of time from the last sitting? I suppose I should write to them and ask.

If they are different subjects then they are new a-levels no question. Even if they weren't I'm certain your case would be considered on an individual basis.