The Student Room Group

International university in Geneva/ the graduate institute/GSD, WHICH?

Does anyone know anything about the masters in international relations and diplomacy program at IUN? Thinking about applying but skeptical as I don't know much about the school. I know it's a relatively new institution but wondering if perhaps it wouldn't be a bad decision. Any info I can get would be very helpful. I'm also interested in GSD and the graduate institute.
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1
Hello Tobe87, I am a student at IUN but an IR undergrad. I have a few friends who are graduate students and they are happy with the programs here. They all have internships that the university helped with because the graduate professors work at places like the UN and WTO. The courses are in the late afternoon so there isnt much conflict with work. I plan on starting my masters in IR-D in september next year because I already know the professors, i'm comfortable with the courses and they have already helped me with some internship possibilities. Once they see that you are a serious student they are more than willing to give you oppportunities and advice for a career in diplomacy.

The classes are small so there isnt much competition for the professors attention. you have multiple start dates so you can start in any trimester you like. Have you checked out the website? i suggest going to the university and take a look around and talk to the staff.

hope this helps!

Johanne
Reply 2
IUN or International University in Geneva (IUG), I would say is the best university in Geneva. I myself an MBA student at IUG who joined this university half my way through the BBA, to study Finance and Accounting. The reasoning behind my decision was IUG's reputation, faculty, accreditation, and alumni.