The Student Room Group

Looking for genuine part-time Geography/Environment MSc

I've just finished an evening degree at Birkbeck and it's highly likely that I'll get a first. I would like to do an MSc in something along the lines of physical geography/environment-related subjects, however I have a part-time office job (I live in London and work every weekday morning) so I'm looking for a part-time course. I'm a mature student and can't afford to just quit my job and go full-time, plus I like my lifestyle of doing both.

A few months ago I went to a postgraduate fair. Lots of universities advertised as having part-time courses available, but most of them couldn't give me even the most basic information about teaching hours, which is surely the most important thing that part-time students would like to know. Many of them said the timetable changed each year, and some unis even advised me to apply first and then find out the timetable, which I found really unhelpful.

The only things I've come up with so far are:

- Stay at Birkbeck, which is not a great option as their masters courses are a bit too social science based, and anyway I'm fed up of Birkbeck and would like to go to a better uni.

- Cranfield have a great system where each module lasts for one week (a very intensive Mon-Fri 9-5), so if you're part-time then you take a week off work and go and stay at Cranfield for a week. They even have their own hotel on site. However, I would have to do four modules per year, so this would take up my entire annual leave.

- I went to an open day at UCL and they were very nice about it, and said they could try and change a couple of modules to afternoons but couldn't guarantee anything. Anyway, they have very few part-time students and it felt as if they'd been added on as an afterthought, so I think I would feel a bit sidelined and not part of the main group.