The Student Room Group

A-level Options Help

I just need some help on deciding my A level options next year

I currently have:
Law
French
Eng. Lit
RE & Philosophy

I am unsure whether to do history next year as it may be more useful/ better viewed than RE, although I have never done history before (the teacher still said I can take it although). Just need help deciding

Thanks
Reply 1
Original post by Mileshooper

I currently have:
Law
French
Eng. Lit
RE & Philosophy

I am unsure whether to do history next year as it may be more useful/ better viewed than RE, although I have never done history before (the teacher still said I can take it although). Just need help deciding

Thanks

If I were you I wouldn't do law - which is the least respected of all those!!!
I'd go with hist/ eng lit/ French/ RS

Why would you do law over history? even if you wanna become a lawyer, history is valued so much more over law a level... In fact I've heard many top law courses can discriminate against those that have done law a level!!!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Original post by cjslions
If I were you I wouldn't do law - which is the least respected of all those!!!
I'd go with hist/ eng lit/ French/ RS

Why would you do law over history? even if you wanna become a lawyer, history is valued so much more over law a level... In fact I've heard many top law courses can discriminate against those that have done law a level!!!

Posted from TSR Mobile

This is very true, you should consider doing all five at the start though and then drop the one you think doesn't fit you the best. Whilst I'm unsure if unis will actively discriminate against people doing law at A-level I do know that history is very respected by the admissions tutors for law. It gives you all the applicable skills you need for the degree, usually to a higher level than a law A-level.