The Student Room Group

M1 or S3

Hi,

I will be going into A2 next year and looking to pick up Further Maths AS alongside A2 Maths.

I will be doing C3,C4 and D1 at A2 Maths

And I will do S2, FP1 and either S3 OR M1

I have no Physics experience really so would be going into it with no prior knowledge, whereas I got 100 UMS in S1 last year, but I heard S3 may be harder than M1, and I would probably have minimal help from teachers and online resources doing S3, but more support in M1.

Any advice on which one to take?

and if anyone has experience doing this kind of workload could you let me know how difficult it was (doing 2 A2's alongside this; Economics and Psychology), I'm not naturally great at Maths just have high work ethic.
(edited 8 years ago)
Original post by ccfctom
Hi,

I will be going into A2 next year and looking to pick up Further Maths AS alongside A2 Maths.

I will be doing C3,C4 and D1 at A2 Maths

And I will do S2, FP1 and either S3 OR M1

I have no Physics experience really so would be going into it with no prior knowledge, whereas I got 100 UMS in S1 last year, but I heard S3 may be harder than M1, and I would probably have minimal help from teachers and online resources doing S3, but more support in M1.

Any advice on which one to take?

and if anyone has experience doing this kind of workload could you let me know how difficult it was (doing 2 A2's alongside this; Economics and Psychology), I'm not naturally great at Maths just have high work ethic.

For Edexcel at least, I think M1 would be the better option. S3 is quite tricky in places, without much support it can be pretty difficult. The exam seems to have been quite weird of late as well.