The Student Room Group

HELP ME! Bass is ruining my life!

Sorry for the long post, but I'm a really frustrated person here! :tux:

I recently moved into a studio in private halls. The neighbour is a sound/music/electric something major and plays music with heavy bass that rings in my room practically all day. It's not the actual song that's audible, just a constant dull thump-thump-thud-thud-bud-bud, that I feel has now taken over my life. :ssaw: I hear it over the TV, over my computer, when I'm studying, reading, cooking, just whenever! The only thing that cancels it out is my speaker's bass levels on an all time high too.

We share a wall, desks on either side of the wall so his speaker system is right up there against the wall. I've asked many times that he please reduce the BASS levels so that my space isn't so permanently invaded with his noise, irrespective of what I'm doing. You don't need peace just when you're studying, isn't it a basic requirement of daily life? (Also, I'm not a robot who eats, sleeps, studies and spends the in betweens listening to some cool bass) I said I understand that he is entitled to use his space as he wishes, but not entitled to mentally harass someone.

He was initially ok with it (but a bit moronic, he turned it off when I merely asked him to lower the bass), but then, with the help of his friends, insisted that he only has to keep it at a lower volume/level during the hours of 11pm-7am and is entitled to play anything for however long, and however loud, every.single.remaining.hour of the day.

The management are potatoes. They seemed to think I hate music (Uhm, NO!), that I have a low tolerance for it (also untrue), and that "in this country people really like music" (said the accommodation manager, gesturing to a mini radio; oh really? Being an alien, I DIDN'T KNOW THAT!! :colonhash: ) The manager was a bit silly, seemed to think I had some beef with the genre of music. WTF?!
:withstupid: