The Student Room Group

Grades fit for Uni choices?

Hello,

I've had a tough first year in AS even if I knew I could have done way better.
AS Grades Achieved: BBEU
A Level Predicted Grades: AAC

I'm in my second year now but I will be redoing my AS exams and coursework to make sure that I improve my AS grades while studying even harder for A2. My school believes in me which is why they have predicted my final grades to be AAC. (AA in Double ICT & C in Mathematics).

Most Universities that I am hoping to get into have ABB entry requirements (B in Maths) for the course Computer Science. I am worried that my low AS grades and Predicted C in maths will not lead to achieving any offers from the Unis I am interested in. I'm quite confident with having a good personal statement and reference but it's just the grades that worry me.

I will be sending my UCAS application off soon but I'd like to know if it's worth taking a risk putting down about 3x ABB Unis + 2x BBB Unis as choices. If not, what do you think I should do?
Reply 1
I think you can always afford to take a bit of a risk, just make sure you have some safety unis which you are sure will give you offers :smile:
Original post by Ajsc
Hello,

I've had a tough first year in AS even if I knew I could have done way better.
AS Grades Achieved: BBEU
A Level Predicted Grades: AAC

I'm in my second year now but I will be redoing my AS exams and coursework to make sure that I improve my AS grades while studying even harder for A2. My school believes in me which is why they have predicted my final grades to be AAC. (AA in Double ICT & C in Mathematics).

Most Universities that I am hoping to get into have ABB entry requirements (B in Maths) for the course Computer Science. I am worried that my low AS grades and Predicted C in maths will not lead to achieving any offers from the Unis I am interested in. I'm quite confident with having a good personal statement and reference but it's just the grades that worry me.