The Student Room Group
Students on campus at the University of Newcastle
Newcastle University
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Visit website

When should I apply for my postgrad?

I'm currently a third year psychology student at Northumbria and am planning on applying for Low Intensity Psychological Therapies PGCert at Newcastle. The webpage currently says that "The application deadline for self-funded places is Monday 27 July 2015 for you to start in September 2015" so assume it needs updating but that there'll be a similar cut off date for September 2016 entry.

Is it better to register interest early or wait until I've gotten my final results which is likely the end of June 2016?
Original post by Charlottelt
I'm currently a third year psychology student at Northumbria and am planning on applying for Low Intensity Psychological Therapies PGCert at Newcastle. The webpage currently says that "The application deadline for self-funded places is Monday 27 July 2015 for you to start in September 2015" so assume it needs updating but that there'll be a similar cut off date for September 2016 entry.

Is it better to register interest early or wait until I've gotten my final results which is likely the end of June 2016?

Hi Charlotte,

I just checked the online prospectus entry for Low Intensity Physical Therapies for PGCert and it says

The application deadline for self-funded places is Friday 27 May 2016 for October 2016 entry. We may consider late applications if places on the course are available.

The information brochure and information sheet are displaying out of date deadlines, so I'll flag that up with the course administrator so they can be amended :smile:

I'll also ask her advice on whether she has a recommendation on submitting an early application for a conditional offer versus waiting until you have results in hand.

All the best,

Persephone
Students on campus at the University of Newcastle
Newcastle University
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Visit website

Hi Charlotte,