The Student Room Group

Being ripped off by take aways. Very small portion sizes.

Should takeaways have standard portion sizes so you know how much you're getting?

I'm totally fed up of the amount of times I've gone to a take away and got an awfully small portion.

I used to go to this Indian I really enjoyed, their lamb madras,it tasted phenomenal :smile: . Often the portion sizes were great, and would over flow the plate when poured on. But in recent times before I stopped going the portions got smaller. The last straw was when I got my lamb madras and when poured onto my rice it barely filled the area of a tea cup!

I've had the same experience with other takeaways too, such as chip shops etc.

The thing is by trade and standards rules, all a takeaway has to do is give you the food you paid for. There is no obligation to standard portion size. They could actually get away with only giving you a single table spoon of curry and rice!

The problem is you don't actually know how much your getting! Containers are filled out of site in a kitchen, and you'd feel uneasy opening the container up before you leave to check its quantity. Not so bad in a restaurant where you can see how much your getting and complain if its not enough.

So should there be standard quantities in takeaways? People should know before they order, exactly what the portion size or weight is! If they don't like it, then don't order!

You go into a supermarket, you can see the weight on tins, or weigh how much fruit or vegetables or meat you buy.

In a pub you buy drink by measure, pint, half pint, single or double measure of spirits etc.

In the butchers you buy meat by the gram.

I think its time takeaways let customers know how much they will get!
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1
Spend your money elsewhere, then.
I've yet to order an indian takeaway that I could finish and I'm a greedy ****er!
I miss the times when you could get 4 wings and chips for a quid.