The Student Room Group

Student finance for Welsh students studying in England

If you're a Welsh student thinking about studying in England, our experts, Phil and Kay, are here to answer your questions about what student finance you can get.

Kay is a Student Finance Advisor for Wales and is an expert in all aspects of student finance for higher education.

Phil has a detailed knowledge of student finance policy, as well as repayment and further education. He is a fluent Welsh speaker who is happy to communicate in the Welsh language.
(edited 8 years ago)
I am going to be attending UWE to study Criminology and Sociology and I'm from Wales. I'm confused on how many student loans are available. The accommodation I have looked at is around the £5000 mark but does the maintenance loan cover accommodation and living allowance??
Reply 2
Hello! I am a mature student due to start studying a full time foundation course, and i am really confused as to how finance works. If i take out a full maintenance loan what impact will taking out a full grant have on it.
Reply 3
Hi, I was just wondering if I was correct in thinking that Welsh people living in Wales or studying in Wales only have to pay £3000 tuition fees rather than the £9000 (or something along the lines of that)? I am on a gap year so haven't been in touch with people that know the current student fees etc, and I feel like I remember someone mentioning this last year. Any info would be great!
Reply 4
So I have been accepted onto an Msc in Maths and am trying to muster the funds to pay for it all. At the moment my plan is basically a career development loan and the post graduate loan, and if I get those then happy days as this pretty much isn't happening any other way.