The Student Room Group

First year worth 10% - how much will it really affect my overall grade?

In first year I got 60%, which counts for 10% of my overall grade - I had mitigating circumstances, and I believe I could've obtained a high 2.1 otherwise. I'm now in second year which counts for 30% and I am on track for getting 68-70% for this year. Provided I keep this up, and say I achieve between 68-70% for final year too, by how much will my first year marks drag my grade down?

I am not the best at maths - if anyone could help me calculate it that would be much appreciated! :smile:
if you got 60% in first year and 70% for the rest of uni you would average like 69%, if you're at the top of a 2.1 it might prevent you sneaking into a first but it isn't going to pull you out of a 2.1
Original post by peanutbuttercup
In first year I got 60%, which counts for 10% of my overall grade - I had mitigating circumstances, and I believe I could've obtained a high 2.1 otherwise. I'm now in second year which counts for 30% and I am on track for getting 68-70% for this year. Provided I keep this up, and say I achieve between 68-70% for final year too, by how much will my first year marks drag my grade down?

I am not the best at maths - if anyone could help me calculate it that would be much appreciated! :smile:

I could have this completely wrong, but if your first year counts for 10% of your overall degree, then your 60% in first year means that you will have had 6% of for your degree entering second year. If you get what you predict you'll get in second year, you'll end up with 20.1/21% for that year, as it's worth 30% (0.68 or 0.7 times 30 is how you work it out).