The Student Room Group

Which college for maths?

Hi, I have asked this before and was told that a short list would help. I want to study maths, but he college needs good music facilities (I am a classical pianist). I would describe myself as quite quiet around new people but 'open up' around a small group of friends.

My list so far is:
Clare
Chorpus Christie
Emmanual
Gonville
St Johns
Trinity.

What would be best? I dont know how to narrow down this list :frown:
Reply 1
Clare is the most musical college on that list...probably the most musical of all the Cambridge colleges. I think Corpus is the smallest of that lot, if it makes a difference.
Womble548
Hi, I have asked this before and was told that a short list would help. I want to study maths, but he college needs good music facilities (I am a classical pianist). I would describe myself as quite quiet around new people but 'open up' around a small group of friends.

My list so far is:
Clare
Chorpus Christie
Emmanual
Gonville
St Johns
Trinity.

Trinity is, of course, renowned for its mathematicians. Emmanuel is generally competitive, and may therefore be good as well. St. John's is good for music, and the most beautiful of them all. Don't know much about Clare.
Reply 3
Clare is very musical (scarily so - I didn't know what I was letting myself in for!) but I don't know how "good" it is for Maths (though these things really mean very little). John's and Caius are also quite musical, but both big. Corpus is the smallest of that lot, but I'm afraid I have no idea what it's like socially.
Reply 4
Womble548

My list so far is:
Clare
Chorpus Christie
Emmanual
Gonville
St Johns
Trinity.