The Student Room Group

Which A-level subjects for Finance?

Hi, I'm currently studying in a high school in Malaysia (which is equivalent to gcse) and I'm so confused about A-level subjects. I've read a lot of threads here and different people say different stuffs.

I hate bio, languages, memorising, history, essays, formats. I love calculations, formulas, numbers, structures, logic.

I'm planning to go for the finance route, maybe a degree in financing. I'm not sure what to take in A-level. Is phy/chem difficult, useful? Should I take econs since I've never studied it in high school? Should I take a 4th subject in A-level?

I'm good in maths and physics while interested and good in the calculation parts of chem too. I'm thinking of going maths, further maths, chem. Are there any better combinations? Most of the people said that physics is hard.

Basically I'm struggling between:
Maths, further, chem, phy, econs

Thanks!
(edited 5 years ago)
Reply 1
I would suggest Maths, Physics, Economics and further maths perhaps but ultimately has to be your decision.
I tale maths, physics, chemistry and further...was thinking about taking economics but decided against it as the subjective nature of the subject is too risky. I've only done one year so far but physics seems manageable--if you're taking a degree with economics in its name it's best you do economics a-level, but you can also get into finance with degrees such as maths!
Reply 3
A Level Maths is all you need really, though doing something like A Level Economics will teach you how the economy works. A Level Economics is not necessary by the way. I am doing a PhD in Finance and I have never studied Economics at undergraduate level or below.
Reply 4
Thanks everyone for the replies!