The Student Room Group
Students on campus at the University of Warwick
University of Warwick
Coventry

Warwick University - Eng Lit and Creative Writing

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me about getting onto the course at Warwick; English Literature and Creative Writing.

I went to their open day and they said there is only 15 places and around 1000 applicants so I know I've got to make myself stand out to even get an interview!

I'm studying English Lit, History, French and Psychology at AS Level and hope to carry all 4 on next year (possibly dropping French if my exam goes terribly!!)

So if anyone had any idea what sort of things I could be doing/write on my personal statement that would be great.

I've always loved writing and have written from a very early age but I guess most applicants will be the same!

Thank you :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I am finishing first year on that course just now, i think its more like 30 people on the course with a thousand applicants for each place. I would say the best thing you could do would be to enter some of your work into competitions and see how you go, they seem to love it if you have won something or shown some initiative in getting your work seen out in the real world. On the other hand, i never did an interview, gave them a portfolio or had particularly amazing A levels and yet they still gave me a place, makes no sense really. I would say just do as much as you can to show that you have a passion about writing and English, enter competitions, see if you can do some work experience at a publishing house etc.
Students on campus at the University of Warwick
University of Warwick
Coventry