The Student Room Group

'best'/'decent' unis that I could get into with A*BC

Firstly, I know that what's considered a good uni is subjective but I'm looking for ideas and rough estimates.
I've had a really tough time with health over the last few years from year 12 onwards hence why I didn't make my application for uni then.
Fortunately I'm ready now to apply to start in 2020 but I'm a bit nervous about where I could actually get accepted and where I'd be wasting my application, especially as I already have the grades, they're not predicted.
I'm not expecting to get into Oxbridge or LSE or anything but is it going to be a waste of time to apply somewhere like Exeter, Bristol, Queen's Belfast or some of the better/more highly thought of non-rg unis?
I'm in Year 13 and sent off my application on the 18/10 so I'm not an expert but I hope this helps! It really depends on the course you want, but I think places like Staffordshire and Chester are still good Unis, but require UCAS points rather than grades. You have really good grades, though, so I think pretty much any course/unis that you know that consider applications case by case rather than by computer would be best!
Original post by imaginaryrunes
Firstly, I know that what's considered a good uni is subjective but I'm looking for ideas and rough estimates.
I've had a really tough time with health over the last few years from year 12 onwards hence why I didn't make my application for uni then.
Fortunately I'm ready now to apply to start in 2020 but I'm a bit nervous about where I could actually get accepted and where I'd be wasting my application, especially as I already have the grades, they're not predicted.
I'm not expecting to get into Oxbridge or LSE or anything but is it going to be a waste of time to apply somewhere like Exeter, Bristol, Queen's Belfast or some of the better/more highly thought of non-rg unis?